Land Art

Andy Goldsworthy dans le Refuge d'Art "La Forest" Loupe

Andy Goldsworhty in "La Forest" Refuge d'Art

Andy et Yvan au Refuge du Vieil Esclangon Loupe

Andy and Yvan in Refuge d'Art "Le Vieil Esclangon"

No program in 2021 because of the sanitary situaztion. Please ask us if interested...

Alexandra David-Néel put her trunks down in 1928 where Provence and the Alps meet. At Digne-les-Bains, the first European to enter Lhasa found in miniature the mountains, solitude and Himalayan light. A well-kept explorer's secret.

It is in the footsteps of the great explorer that you will walk for a week in the company of Yvan, your hiking and yoga guide, passionate about Alexandra David-Neel, Buddhism, yoga and the Himalayas, but also about her region, Haute-Provence, whose landscapes tell the story of the formation of the Mediterranean and the Alps, but are not without reminding us of the Himalayas. Ladakh, Sikkim, Tibet, Nepal... In the valley of the Haute Bleone, where you stay in a yurt! The comparison is particularly obvious.

During the itinerant trek guided by Yvan, you will explore the largest UNESCO labelled Geopark in Europe. Alexandra David Néel chose to stay in Haute-Provence during her retreat because this mountainous and wild territory reminded her of the most isolated parts of Tibet.

As for the famous artist Andy Goldsworthy, he decided to create one of his main collections around it because the heritage and landscapes inspired him enormously. His work, called "Refuge d'Art" can be discovered on several exceptional sites, integrated in chapels, sheepfolds and old dwellings.

Refuge d'Art is a single work of art to be browsed. Conceived by the British artist Andy Goldsworthy in partnership with the Gassendi Museum and the Haute-Provence Geological Reserve, this route, which is unique in Europe, runs for 150 km through the exceptional landscapes of the Reserve and combines in a singular way contemporary art, hiking and the enhancement of natural and cultural heritage.

Linking three Sentinels (dry stone cairns created by the artist in the heart of three valleys), the route follows ancient paths and crosses the traces of a once intense agricultural life. Andy Goldsworthy wished to punctuate this route with Refuges, old ruined habitats belonging to the small unprotected rural heritage (chapels, farms, jas) which have been restored to shelter hikers for a stopover or an overnight stay. A sculpture designed specifically for each of these sites is now an integral part of the buildings.

You will discover this singular and well-preserved territory by walking along paths that are rarely used and stay in charming accommodation places offering a personalized service (hotel, gîte, refuge, yurt camp). Yvan also offers you a daily yoga practice (optional) on the way or in the evening, whose gentle body practices will both eliminate possible muscular tensions from walking and prepare you to sit down for breathing and meditative exercises.

Your Guide: Yvan has been a Mountain Leader and Yoga Teacher since 1999. He is one of the first to have associated these two disciplines that are Yoga and Hiking since 2001. A great traveller in Asia and especially in India and Nepal, Yvan loves to share with you his passion for the Haute-Provence and the Himalayas. Yvan teaches Hatha-Yoga, which helps to improve one's physical, mental and breathing condition.


Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

File Downloadable

Refuge d'Art

Andy Goldsworthy dans le Refuge d'Art "La Forest" Loupe

Andy Goldsworthy dans le Refuge d'Art "La Forest"

Dîner convivial au Refuge d'Art le Viel Esclangon Loupe

Dîner convivial au Refuge d'Art le Viel Esclangon

Andy et Yvan au Refuge du Vieil Esclangon Loupe

Andy et Yvan au Refuge du Vieil Esclangon

Alexandra David-Néel a posé ses malles en 1928 là où la Provence et les Alpes s'enlacent. A Digne-les-Bains, la première Européenne à pénétrer à Lhassa retrouvait en miniature les montagnes, la solitude et la lumière himalayennes. Un secret d'explorateur bien gardé.

C’est dans les pas de la grande Exploratrice que vous cheminez durant une semaine en compagnie d’Yvan, votre guide de randonnée et de yoga, passionné à la fois par Alexandra David-Neel, le bouddhisme, le yoga et l’Himalaya, mais aussi par sa région, la Haute-Provence, dont les paysages racontent l'histoire de la formation de la Méditerranée et des Alpes, mais ne sont pas sans rappeler l’Himalaya. Ladakh, Sikkim, Tibet, Népal… Dans la vallée de la Haute Bleone, dans laquelle vous séjournez en yourte ! La comparaison est particulièrement évidente. 

Durant le trek itinérant guidé par Yvan, vous explorez le plus grand Géoparc labellisé UNESCO d’Europe. Alexandra David Néel a choisi de séjourner en Haute-Provence pendant sa retraite car ce territoire montagneux et sauvage lui rappelait les contrées les plus isolés du Tibet.

Le célèbre artiste Andy Goldsworthy a quant à lui décidé d’y créer une de ses principales collections autour parce que le patrimoine et les paysages l'inspiraient énormément. Son œuvre, baptisée “Refuge d’Art” se découvre sur plusieurs sites d’exception, intégrée dans des chapelles, bergerie et anciennes habitations. 

Refuge d'Art est une seule oeuvre d'art à parcourir. Conçu par l'artiste britannique Andy Goldsworthy en partenariat avec le Musée Gassendi et la Réserve Géologique de Haute-Provence, ce parcours unique en Europe traverse sur 150 km les paysages exceptionnels de la Réserve et allie de façon singuliére l'art contemporain, la randonnée et la valorisation du patrimoine naturel et culturel. 

Reliant trois Sentinelles (cairns en pierre séche réalisés par l'artiste au coeur de trois vallées), le trajet emprunte d'anciens chemins et croise les traces d'une vie agricole autrefois intense. Andy Goldsworthy a souhaité ponctuer ce parcours de Refuges, d'anciens habitats en ruine appartenant au petit patrimoine rural non-protégé (chapelles, fermes, jas) qui ont été restaurés pour abriter les randonneurs le temps d'une halte ou d'une nuit. Une sculpture conçue spécifiquement dans chacun de ces sites fait désormais partie intégrante du bâti.

Vous découvrez ce territoire singulier et très préservé en cheminant sur des sentiers peu empruntés et séjournez dans des lieux d'hébergement charmants offrant un service personnalisé (hôtel, gîte, refuge, campement de yourtes). Yvan vous propose également une pratique de Yoga quotidienne (facultative) en chemin ou en soirée, dont les pratiques corporelles douces permettent à la fois d’éliminer les éventuelles tensions musculaires de la marche et préparer à l’assise pour des exercices respiratoires et méditatives.

Votre Guide : Yvan est Accompagnateur en Montagne et Professeur de Yoga depuis 1999. Il est l’un des premiers à avoir associé ces deux disciplines que sont le Yoga et la Rando dès 2001. Grand voyageur en Asie et spécialement en Inde et au Népal, Yvan adore vous communiquer sa passion pour la Haute-Provence et l’Himalaya. Yvan enseigne le Hatha-Yoga, qui permet d’améliorer sa condition physique, mentale et son souffle.

 

 

 

Fichier téléchargeable